Posted by: Linda (Odineca) Calabria | March 16, 2010

Wedding Bells are Ringing. Priscilla of Boston, Boston.

Quite a number of my friends are getting married in the next year and I am privileged enough to be a bridesmaid for two of them.

Last week a long time friend of mine took a trip to Priscilla of Boston on Boylston Street…I had heard great things about this great wedding gown shop.  My friends parents were in town and were already chatting with her assistant, Michelle, when I arrived.  My friend had one dress in her wish list book that was from the store.  She has a fit body so we were all positive she would look great in anything.  As the dress picking process began we kept referencing TLC’s “Say Yes to the Dress.” The dresses were gorgeous and having never seen one up close I was in love with…most of them.

My friends stylist Michelle was very helpful and extremely friendly.  She brought dresses that she knew would fit her body and picked up on cues about whether the dress was really “it.”  At the end of the day two became front-runners and I along with the stylist advised that there needs to be some separation from the dresses to really figure out which one or which style may be “the one.”

My initial expectation of this being a beautiful but stuffy salon was trumped by how professional and understanding  my friends stylist was.

So…let’s review…

1. Don’t be put off by the name, Priscilla of Boston is a very lovely salon and worth a visit.

2. You also shouldn’t be put off by the sticker prices when you walk in.  Stick to your budget!

3. If the lower priced dresses are still above your budget keep an eye out for sample sales.

Until the next review…


Leave a comment

Categories